Some time in Spain

I’m sitting on the bus from Madrid to Zaragoza, gazing out the window at endless green and brown plains and strange sparse shops. I’m listening to some Jack Johnson and the occasional John Mayer, having the ultimate relax after a very intense but fantastic week of Sangria, mini 1€ sandwiches (Cien Bocadillos), new friends and lots lots more sangria. I met up with some friends from my German summer camp in Madrid and we had an incredible time filled with sun and laughter. Yesterday we spent our last day together in Madrid at the Central Park (Retiro), napping in the grass (we were extremely hungover), playing guitar, eating too many Pringles and iceypoles, listening to Radiohead and discussing whether anybody would trust me with looking after a baby (hypothetical scenario) amongst other interesting topics. After a week of travelling alone it was so refreshing to have friends to share food and laughs with; someone to hold my coffee while I put my backpack on (an endless struggle of the solo traveller), and someone’s shoulder to rest my head on in the Metro when we got home from the club at 8am and had to check out of our hostel at 10:30. It’s the small things 🙂

I am now en route to stay with my pal Marina in Zaragoza, where she lives and studies. I’m ever so excited to indulge in some home cooked meals and be away from the big city and tourists! Apparently it’s a beautiful city so I am very excited to arrive. Afterwards I am heading to Paris for several days and then onwards to famous London. I’m currently considering a brief trip to Dublin to visit dear Hannah – I’ll probably regret it if I don’t go so I think I’ll do it! Apart from all the amazing teaching experiences which will help my career path and the endlessly hilarious memories, I think the best part about my Camp Adventure experience was all the international friends I have made. When I next come to Europe I know I have friends in Ireland, Wales, England, Spain, and especially Germany. Additionally I’ve got new friends in the USA and I’ve already planned a California road trip with one friend this December! We will drive from San Diego to San Francisco via LA and Santa Cruz, with many burgers, beers and selfies to be enjoyed the way. And most importantly I have the exciting prospect of having international friends come to visit me in Melbourne! Over and out, X.

NOTE: I have been editing these posts and moving them from my tumblr page to here because it is a *more serious* platform and encourages me to work on my writing. Two musings have come of this. Firstly, it has allowed me to edit and reflect on my writing style, in particular to veer away from the use of the ever notorious ‘really’ and even more so, “very”. I despise both words and I am trying so hard to avoid them wherever possible in an attempt to deepen my vocabulary and think more about my writing. Secondly, I have been considering planning a trip to USA and Guatemala in the mid-year University break next year (from May to June). This post and its mention of friends and cherished memories has started to sway me more towards the “just bloody book the flights” side of things…. so we’ll see. Lots to think about. Thank you for reading, I’m so glad you’re here. X

“So avoid using the word ‘very’ because it’s lazy. A man is not very tired, he is exhausted. Don’t use very sad, use morose. Language was invented for one reason, boys – to woo women – and, in that endeavour, laziness will not do. It also won’t do in your essays.” – N.H. Kleinbaum, Dead Poets Society

Leave a Reply

