Ciudad de México

I’ve been in Mexico for one week now and I am having the most brilliant time with fantastic company. We (Alyse, Josh and I) are staying in the house of Rosita, a lovely woman whose work is to look after exchange students, her house is very old – 130 years in fact – and she has lived here for 61 of those! She has an unbelievable amount of traditional paintings, loads of records, and an enormous amount of kindness and hospitality. She has gone very much out of her way to make pescetarian meals for Alyse and I, in addition to vegan meals for Josh! I awaken every day to find a pot of freshly-brewed coffee and breakfast has most often consisted of my most treasured foods on one plate – that is beans, guacamole and tortillas. She has two adorable puppies named Binky and Joy and always has family/friends over to share meals and memories with… the close-knit relationships that comprise the culture here are enviable, as is their consistent happiness and hospitable nature. We have much to learn in Australia, I hope to bring some of their positivity and kindness back down under with me.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Some gals from our crew (me in the front) after we visited some ruins in the centre of Mexico City and a museum which had a wall of skulls. I’ve forgotten the names of both.

I’ve been so busy with 6 hours of Spanish and 3 of Mexican history and culture or excursions. Today we visited Teotihuacán, an ancient Aztec city where we climbed the pyramid of the sun – the second highest in the world after Cairo. The view was incredible and you can really imagine what it would have been like, it’s well preserved even with mountains of tourists visiting it each year. I’ve learnt so much about this beautiful country from our professor, Arnoldo – a 70 year old man with 4 degrees and endless life experience, I don’t think there is anything the man doesn’t know he truly is a walking encyclopaedia. He has given up so much of his time to help us, as have students from our school who took us out salsa dancing last night and even drove the 10 of us home! The hospitality of everyone here and their passion for Mexico is humbling and amazing, every person implores us to tell our friends at home that Mexico is not as it is portrayed in Western media. The government is constantly trying to reform Mexico to make it a safer place and particularly in D.F. (Mexico City) they have made leaps in progressive ways such  as passing same-sex marriage, a magnificent step that Australia has yet to make.

img_4072
My treasured friend Alyse and I at the Floating Gardens of Xochimilco. We got serenaded by Mariachis and purchased freshly roasted corn from a man in another boat.

 

I’ll endeavour to write more about this but for now I need to go and study, my course is incredibly intense and there is much to do!

Hasta luego x

One thought on “Ciudad de México

  1. Pingback: Come what may…

Leave a Reply

