Thoughts during teaching rounds

“Do one thing every day that scares you.” – Eleanor Roosevelt

This quote basically summarises every day that I have spent in Prep, doing my teaching rounds for the last 3 weeks. I have one week remaining and I am so excited to be finished with assessments, early mornings and lesson planning for the next few months!
I’ve learnt a bucket load during this placement, about teaching and where I see myself in the next few years. So far I’ve come to the following conclusions:

  1. I don’t see myself teaching Prep (Kindergarten in the US) at least when I am first graduating, it is a lot of pressure and I think I’d like to teach older kids who I can share my passions with (geography, world cultures etc).
  2. Lesson planning is hard work and is really testing my time management skills – each lesson I plan is either way too quick or is too difficult for the kids and we have to move on to another activity…. I definitely have a lot to work on there.
  3. I don’t mind the teaching hours, afternoon runs during daylight savings time are bloody lovely and I thoroughly enjoy getting up early.
  4. I’d like to teach in a less academically rigorous school with a more community-oriented vibe, preferably one with an alternative curriculum such as Steiner.
  5. I am highly passionate about morning teas.
  6. My coffee consumption is spiralling out of control and I think I need to go to rehab.

Teaching lessons to 27 five year olds (including a lesson sequence about basic robotics coding!) has been an incredibly nerve-wracking experience but I have learnt a great deal from my amazing mentor, particularly about behaviour management. I’ve also decided that I am going to have a meticulously clean classroom and I have found so many inspiring resources and books that I cannot wait to dive into during my holidays. #Educationnerd

They say that after your first big teaching placement you should definitely know if its the job for you, and even though this placement has been so exhausting and quite stressful at times, I know that I will love to have my own class someday and I am so motivated to finish my final two semesters! Thanks for reading, see you next time. X

P.S> If you’re a teacher reading this I would love to chat with you 🙂

11745765_10154071390619535_2047710859265593319_n
Me walking 3 miles in Slovakia after we got off at the wrong train stop and got very lost indeed.

 

 

Leave a Reply

