A Quest for Life: David Attenborough’s live show

I went to see David Attenborough’s live show (three hours of pure joy) on the weekend with my ex-boyfriend, funnily enough, and it was one of the most incredible/enjoyable/fascinating things I have ever sat still for three hours for. He spoke about his lifes’ work, how he got into the niche career path that he followed; various adventures that he experienced; and lessons he has learned along the way. He was a truly inspiring man to listen to and during question time he spoke about some controversial topics such as zoos (he supports well-run zoos); climate change; and the amazing creature that is a 3 year old human. Before going to the show a small part of me was nervous that I would feel somewhat disheartened at the end of it, as a person who studied (and completed) a Journalism degree but ultimately has chosen another path – being Primary Teaching. I veered away from this path that at one point I was so passionate about, because my yearning for travel and adventure, the reason I chose to study journalism, was eventually unbalanced with my desire to have a settled job, wage, security, but also the freedom to travel in my holidays and be able to work anywhere in the world.

Ultimately teaching is the right career for me as I have the flexibility toΒ travel and work anywhere in the world (which adds to my resume for when I decide to come back home) as opposed to Journalism which requires years of work here, which little time for holidays, before (MAYBE) being given opportunities to travel. However, it is in times such as these incredible David Attenborough viewings where he discusses his fantastical adventures and amazing journey that I can’t help regretting the choice I made to pursue a ‘safe’ career. That said, I still have many plans to travel with my degree (starting from next year!) and I am sure that while my own adventures might not compare with David’s, I’ve been so lucky to see all that I have so far… and there is much more to come.

We live in a wonderful world that is full of beauty, charm and adventure. There is no end to the adventures that we can have if only we seek them with our eyes open.
– Jawaharlal Nehru

2 thoughts on “A Quest for Life: David Attenborough’s live show

  1. In my experience traveling, I’ve realized that I could either spend a lot of time comparing myself to others, or I could be thankful for the places I’ve gone and the things I’ve seen. It seems like you are doing the same. Best wishes!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you πŸ™‚ I definitely try to have that kind of mindset when thinking about my own experiences and not those that I haven’t had or others are having. X

      Like

Leave a Reply

